Man-E

4 Apr

Yah, that’s right. It looks like my son has a better manicure than me. It’s because I’m a chicken.

The first time I tried to trim B’s nails when he was sleeping, I clipped him on the first try and his tiny, little finger started bleeding. $%#omg!!!%^& I can’t do it! So then husband tried it the next time. He snagged two of his fingers. Poor little dude.That was probably 3ish weeks ago.

We haven’t tried it since.

He’s scratched up his face here and there a couple times- nothing too bad, but I don’t need him clawing it up or poking an eye out, so it needs to be done. Like, now.

Last Sunday me and husband were driving home from church and we passed a dog grooming salon with a sign that read: Walk-in nail trims: $5

I wondered if they would take a baby, I mean- they didn’t specify 😉  Brax didn’t like that idea though because when I mentioned it to Hubs he started to cry.

I swear I will try it tonight when he falls asleep.

4 Responses to “Man-E”

  1. sixofclubs April 8, 2010 at 1:36 pm #

    LOL! I feel your pain. The skreetch of pain you cause hurts you more than anything else in the world. I did the same to our daughter. I did finally get the nerve to do it again and it worked. I trimmed just a little (like one corner, then the other corner, then the top) to make sure I didn’t get too much. It took several days to get them all, but worked. A friend of mine had luck with just filing the nails down, but my baby wouldn’t stand for that. Might try it though – no chance of cutting his little finger. Good luck! I promise he won’t remember your faux pas

  2. michgal18 April 12, 2010 at 8:06 pm #

    OH MY–put those nail clippers away!!! Little man is almost 6 months old and I only use those on his toenails. I am still biting his nails–that works the best. Get a corner and then you can peel away the edge. Seriously, so much easier…and worse that happens is you have a jagged edge!! I usually do it when Carson is nursing!

  3. ellejay419 April 12, 2010 at 8:14 pm #

    Thanks! I will give that a try, someone suggested that to me before also but he’s such a squirm worm- I guess I should try it once he’s asleep 🙂

  4. michgal18 April 12, 2010 at 8:28 pm #

    Oh yeah, and then come to terms with no matter how often you bite those little buggers back, no matter what you do, somehow, someway he will wake up with a new scratch. We just try to keep the damage to a minimum over here!!

Say something!

