Tough love is not for me

29 Apr

I just don’t know how Brax is ever going to sleep in his crib “full time”.  If I’m lucky I can get him down for a nap in it maybe 1-2 times a week; and then his naps only last about 20 minutes because as soon as his bink falls out and he wakes up screaming for it, he realizes where he’s at. I try putting him down when he’s drowsy- no go. I let him fall asleep on me (which is really the only and best way he will sleep) and as soon as I bring him in the nursery and his body hits the mattress he’s wide awake.

I’ve tried the “Cry it Out” method many times, but it’s just too heartbreaking. He gets himself so worked up and sick about it I just can’t take it. I tried this afternoon for an hour. Yes, he screamed and cried for an hour as I went and checked in on him every 10 minutes. I finally couldn’t take it anymore and picked him up and hugged him and squeezed him and gave him kisses all over his sad little face.

I just can’t do it; but I don’t know what else to do.

Don’t even think about leaving me in here alone, lady.

3 Responses to “Tough love is not for me”

  1. michgal18 April 30, 2010 at 12:35 am #

    How old is your son now? Little Man started figuring it out around 4 months or so. If you want to read about it, Heathy Sleep Habits Happy Baby was a good book, it kind of helps you understand their sleep cycles. Carson is not a binky baby, but he does have a stuffy (lovie) that I started using with him around that 4 month mark. It is one of those little blankies w/ the stuffed bear head on it…NYG blankie. Anyhow, around the time we started working on naps, I started stuffing that in the crook of his arm when I would put him down–now he loves it, it goes right into his mouth and he goes right too sleep. Maybe you could try a stuffie too? Good luck, it is hard to figure out what is right for you, but he will come around!!

  2. ellejay419 April 30, 2010 at 1:38 pm #

    He’s 5 months now. I was thinking about reading up, thanks for the book suggestion. He does have 2 different blankies like that but I haven’t let him sleep with them, although it wouldn’t hurt to try- I have a feeling the reason he doesn’t like the crib is probably because it feels empty & lonley to him. I’ll try that, thanks! 🙂

    • michgal18 April 30, 2010 at 7:20 pm #

      Well, if it makes you feel any better, Carson takes his stuffy and puts it over his head/face. Usually the blanket too!! He still lives to tell about it!! 🙂 I used parts of that book to help w/ sleeping, but it is really good to understand their sleep/wake cycles, I thought. Let me know what you think!

Say something!

