“They”

12 Jul

They say, you have to let your baby “cry it out” and then baby will sleep on his own from then on.

They say, don’t let your baby watch T.V. before age 2.

They say, only give a pacifier to baby when it’s time for bed.

They say, they say, they say.

But they aren’t the ones who have to listen to my poor, scared baby screaming in his crib all alone; working himself up until he’s shaking and sweating. (Which is when after 10 minutes of this, I went and scooped him up and vowed never to try that “method” again.)

They aren’t the ones whose baby wants to be attached to mommy’s hip 24/7 , which makes getting anything done impossible. I’m fairly certain small chunks of Veggie Tales and Handy Manny won’t damage my child. Yes, you can quote me on that. I watched some T.V. as an infant and I turned out just fine, thank you.

And, they aren’t the ones who have to listen to the mysterious crying when after eating, diaper changing, playing, rocking, carrying, singing, turns out to be the wails of a baby who just wants his binky.

There is information overload out there on the “right” way to raise a baby. What’s funny is that much of it contradicts the other. I guess it just gets to me, and sometimes I need to tune it out and realize that no matter what they say is right or wrong I do what I do because it makes my baby happy and as long as he is happy and healthy that is all that matters. Similar to my Judgey McJudgerson’s post– sometimes you just need to say: SCREW IT “experts”!!!

One Response to ““They””

  1. Maryanne July 13, 2010 at 9:57 pm #

    It’s so very true. Do what makes you, and most of all YOUR baby, happy. I can honestly say I never acted out as a result from watching TV as a child and I bet the “experts” didn’t either. Hang in there, mama!

Say something!

