OTT: 8/3

3 Aug

Applebees: You are on my shit list.

Friday night me and the husband went to Applebees for a dinner date. I know, so cliché’ right? Actually- it’s the scene of our very first date. How sweet, huh? Anyway, I’ve never had a problem with the place before. They have decent food and it’s cheap, whatever.

With that said, I think I’m done with the place for a while.

No, nothing traumatic happened. No bugs in the food, no snotty waitress. It’s just after a less than stellar week and an even less than stellar day, the last thing you want is to go out to eat and wind up with less than stellar food. (And yes, I am aware we were at Applebees…. but still!)

A) My margarita was PURE syrup. It was absolutely disgusting. I’m not a fan of being able to taste the alcohol in my drink- but this was just way out in left field. I couldn’t taste one hint of tequila in that thing. And I’m sorry, but if I’m going to drink 400 calories in one sitting- there sure as hell better be some alcohol in it, or that’s just a waste. So, I sent it back.

In return, I got something that was a watered down version of what I had before + a little tequila. *Gag*

B) They must have changed the recipe to the Fiesta Lime Chicken, because it had this nasty, creamy sauce on it- which I don’t recall it ever having before. *Double gag*.

C) The food must have been sitting under the heat lamps for a while, because when they brought it out the rice was all dry and the “melty” cheese on top of the chicken was almost solid. Ughhh.

The best part of the meal? You know that little, tiny cup of pico de gallo they set on the side to dump over the chicken?

Yah. That. 

Man, they don’t give you enough of it! I ate it right out of the miniature, little cup & it was the most delicious part of the meal. Sad, but true.

Say something!

