What is going on?!

13 Aug

I understand a side effect of teething could be “runny” diapers. Yes, this may be a little TMI- so if you are planning to eat anytime soon, don’t read any further.

Ahem:

So, my mother in law brings B home after watching him all day and tells me that his diapers are super runny and the last one just leaked everywhere as she was getting him packed up to drive back to our house. Ok. I had to clean out the car seat a little, he had some on his clothes, and oddly enough- his bib.

I give him a bath and per our usual routine, I bring him into our bedroom and lay him on our bed to put his diaper on, put lotion on him, and change him into his P.J.s.

WELL- he was not having any of that tonight.

I attempted to put his diaper on and he squirmed and twisted so much that I couldn’t keep him on his back long enough to get the diaper on him or even underneath him. He then proceeded to try to crawl away from me- on the bed. So, I moved him onto the floor to try again. More twisting and turning. I literally was getting tired of trying to get him flipped over. Here I have a naked baby trying to crawl away on me. I finally somehow manage to get the diaper on him as he’s in mid crawl.

Not a good idea.

About an hour later, he had what I like to call a “poop-splosion”. Yes, poop-splosions are waaaay worse than explosions. Because they’re poopy.

And Grandma was not lying when she said he had a runny diaper. He had been sitting on my lap… it was all over my leg. All over his clean little booty, and all over his Pj’s.

I brought him into his bedroom to change him & here were go again. As soon as the diaper was off- so was he. He’s doing this thing where he’ll throw himself backward and twist and then scamper off. He was being quite the little booger. ((He’s an exceptionally cute one though, so I suppose I’ll give him a free pass.))

Anyway, after a few minutes of grabbing him, flipping him over, and trying to get the diaper on with no luck, I let him go. He crawled to this middle of his bedroom and sat there.

And peed. On the carpet.

4 Responses to “What is going on?!”

  1. Danielle August 14, 2010 at 3:05 am #

    Oooh I have been going through these ‘runny’ situations a LOT lately!! My baby is 15 months old & my daycare baby is 9 months old… and they are BOTH teething – lucky me 🙂

    Thanks for visiting my blog today & have a great weekend!

  2. toriebartee August 14, 2010 at 1:02 pm #

    Oh boy have I been there 🙂 Little stinkers huh? Thanks for stopping by my blog! We seem to have a lot in common. When were you are your hubby married? We were married in April of 2008 as well…and sadly it rained on our wedding day 😦 But it was still a great day nonetheless.

  3. alliwaw August 16, 2010 at 10:58 pm #

    seriously. what is up with with babies protesting the diaper change? you’d think they’d want a clean diaper. my little guy does the exact same thing. it’s like he’s a gymnast in training, come diaper changing time.

Say something!

