We are “those” people

28 Sep

I never thought I’d say this, but it’s pretty inevitable once you have a baby. We are “those” people. THOSE people!!

You know, the ones who have the yappy talkative baby at the booth on the other side of the restaurant… & yet, you can hear it.

I’ll say this: Braxtyn is seriously one of the most well-behaved babies I have ever known. He rarely throws any type of fit (only when he realizes the cupboards are baby-proofed and he can’t open them), and if he does he doesn’t scream and cry like crazy for more than 5 seconds. But something weird happened when the husband and I went out to breakfast Sunday morning.

B was LOUD!

I have never seen him so animated or heard him laugh, babble, or whatever other weird noises were coming out of his mouth- EVER! I couldn’t believe it. He was having so much fun sitting in the high chair and eating his puffs. But man oh man, he was loud!

I got to thinking, “Ohmygosh… we are those people!” & it’s not like I have ever had a problem with babies in general before. I’ve always loved babies. Babies are cute and snuggly. But when you don’t have kids and there is this very loud, screechy sound coming from a child you just think, “Seriously, can’t his parents shut him up??” Or, “What is wrong with that kid?”

Well, at least I used to think like that. ::Sheepish grin::

I wasn’t necessarily embarrassed by all the loud noise. Why should I be? He wasn’t crying- he was actually having a good ole’ time! But I did look around and wonder if maybe there was someone else nearby, or ya know- on the other side of the restaurant, who thought like I used to in my “Pre-Baby Life”. But you know what? Who cares. There’s nothing wrong with being those people.

Nothing.at.all.

4 Responses to “We are “those” people”

  1. bekah September 28, 2010 at 8:12 am #

    haha I know the feeling well. Its too fun to care what other people think though! I mean, if he were pitching a fit I would do something, but when he is playing…nah! Yak it up!

  2. Brianna September 28, 2010 at 10:30 am #

    I was totally an eye-roller pre-baby. Now I think that unless there is a fit being thrown and nothing being done about it, laughing and ‘talking’ babies are cute as can be. B just wanted to show off – nothing wrong with that!

  3. ellejay419 September 28, 2010 at 12:45 pm #

    I totally agree.

  4. martini mama September 29, 2010 at 12:16 pm #

    pre baby, kids drove me crazy…now not at all. at least he was happy…my 2 year old sounds like brax, he doesn’t cry that much, he is well behaved, but let me tell you…he has those moments and i too think “i am one of them” haha

Say something!

