I just couldn’t help it

19 Nov

Every year I faithfully wait until after Thanksgiving is over to start decorating for Christmas. Yet, Wednesday as I was flipping through the music channels on the T.V., I came across the Christmas stations. Already! Pssh, I was about to blow past them when it accidentally landed on the “Swingin’ Christmas” channel & Braxtyn started dancing! He’s never danced before! He was bobbing up and down and swaying back and forth.

We listen to music all the time. What was it about the Christmas music that got him dancing? I had no clue. But I had to leave it on. & then I started feeling all Christmasy and just couldn’t help myself. I dragged out the Christmas decor, blasted the music, and started decorating (with the help of B, of course.)

The only thing missing? Snow.

O…M…G… did I just say that??

I hate snow. I really, really do. Actually- I don’t think it’s the snow I hate. Snow is pretty, and sparkly. It’s the ice on the roads that it creates that I hate. But I just can’t get into the full Christmas spirit without a little snow.

Ew.. I can’t believe I just said that again. Ha! I better be careful what I wish for, cuz here in Michigan snow is a four letter word. I guess I can wait for the full Christmas experience a little while longer, as long as that means no snow.

5 Responses to “I just couldn’t help it”

  1. loveruels2011 November 19, 2010 at 10:03 am #

    Thats ok I am totally going to decorate tomorrow!!! 🙂

  2. Brianna November 19, 2010 at 10:14 am #

    I looooove Christmas and everything Christmas related, except maybe snow as well. However, living in MN and WI my whole life, snow is a given and complaining about it is pretty useless. My decorations are going up this weekend and I will be definitely be rocking the Christmas tunes and movies for the next month and a half.

    5 days til the big O-N-E. How are you holding up!?

    • ellejay419 November 19, 2010 at 10:17 am #

      Yes, 5 days!!! I still have a bunch of running to do next week for his party- so until that gets done I will have high anxiety 🙂

  3. Slamdunk November 23, 2010 at 11:22 pm #

    Yes, I am hoping that my snow shovel stays dusty for a little while longer.

    Sounds like Braxtyn is well above our kiddos in musical taste. Our twins haven’t shown an interest in any of the Christmas music yet–other than Alvin and the Chipmunks versions.

  4. Kristina December 3, 2010 at 9:41 pm #

    Ummm yeah, I secretly couldn’t wait for the snow either…because I swear I hate it 😉 But your right…it’s not the snow that’s sucky, it’s the roads and the temperature!

Say something!

