Happy birthday dad

8 Sep

September 8th, it hasn’t even been 3 months since you’ve gone.

I still can’t believe it, as cliché’ as that sounds.

You’re best friend Steve said a really, really great speech about you at the memorial service  and it made us all laugh.

I knew you were sick for a long time, and that the doctor said only 6 months for you to live. But after only 3 months since the deadline, you went downhill so fast in one week, I wasn’t ready for that.

One week.

I saw you on a Tuesday and you seemed your usual self. The next time I saw you- out of it. & that’s how you were for the next 6 days, until you died.

I am glad though that I brought Braxtyn over to your house at least once a week to see you in the last half-year. I’m glad that I have the most precious picture of you & him on his dresser- and every night  before we go to bed I say, “Say goodnight to grandpa John.” & Braxtyn waves. Because I know you told me you were afraid he wouldn’t remember you.

You did teach me something in this life: It’s the live and learn rule. I love you for not being such a controlling parent as our mom was then, and letting us LIVE and LEARN rather than locking us up. I love that you had faith in us to make the right our decisions. Because that’s what life is all about. Making decisions and hoping they are the right ones.

You also convinced me not to smoke. Seeing you struggling for years, and suffering the last week of your life with COPD and Emphysema broke my heart and was the hardest thing to see, ever.

I love you daddy. Happy Birthday. ❤

Me & my dad on his last birthday. He would have been 68 today ❤

6 Responses to “Happy birthday dad”

  1. Brianna September 8, 2011 at 8:59 am #

    Hugs to you today and happy birthday to your dad!

  2. andy1076 September 8, 2011 at 2:25 pm #

    Beautiful dedication, i’m sure he’s looking down at you from above and smiling for your words 🙂

  3. ellejay419 September 8, 2011 at 3:47 pm #

    Thanks guys 🙂

  4. loveruels2011 September 13, 2011 at 10:40 am #

    Beautiful, he is definitely looking down on you and smiling.

  5. evilnymphstuff September 21, 2011 at 1:18 am #

    Aww that’s so touching and beautifully profound… I’m sure he’ll always be with you 🙂 in your heart

Say something!

