Apple duck ball

4 Oct

You say to-MAY-toe, I say TA-ma-TOE. Or in Braxtyn’s case, Apple.

It’s so cute to watch Braxtyn learning what everything is. Although he’s a little confused when it comes to some objects and when you try to correct him, he gets all bossy pants on ya.

Pretty much anything that is round is considered a “ball”. A pumpkin? A ball. An orange? A ball. My head? A ball. No seriously. We’ve been playing soccer & teaching him to kick… my head- yah, it got kicked.

UNLESS it is round and he thinks it looks red, then it is an apple. A mango? Yup, that’s an apple. I also have these “apple sized” acorn salt and pepper shakers- don’t laugh.. they’re for fall.. & he also thinks those are apples. He will point at them and scream “Apple!!!!” Until you stop saying, “No, they are acorns” and agree with him that yes, they are most definitely apples. My bad.

My favorite is “Duck” though. He knows how to say “bird”, but every bird is a duck. A penguin is a duck, a seagull is a duck, and a robin is a duck. I’m pretty sure I’m not doing any damage agreeing with him for now; because I know one day when he gets a little older, it will click with him what these things really are. I mean, there’s no sense arguing with a 22 month old who doesn’t have reasoning skills yet over something like this.

For now, I’ll just accept the fact that he’s already winning fights with me, and he’s not even 2 years old.

3 Responses to “Apple duck ball”

  1. andy1076 October 4, 2011 at 2:56 pm #

    This is only the beginning, they show you real quick who the boss really is lol 🙂

    • ellejay419 October 4, 2011 at 5:02 pm #

      Yah, pretty much from the day they’re born!

      • andy1076 October 5, 2011 at 1:08 am #

        Diaper change, the bottle , attention..well you get the idea! lol! wouldn’t trade any of it for the world though 🙂 they know we love them 🙂

Say something!

