Well- let’s not do that ever again.

13 Dec

One of the top things that a mommy dreads the most happened last night.

Hanging out in Braxtyn’s room before bed, goofing around. Braxtyn would say, “Hide.” & I would throw the blanky over his head and he would laugh and then rip it off and we would say, “Oh THERE you are!” Over and over again. Until he tripped on the blanket while it was covering his head and he went sprawling nose first into the wall.

😦

😦

😦

As soon as he went down and I heard him screaming, I knew it wasn’t going to be good. I took the blanket off and saw that his nose was bleeding. Ok. I can handle a little blood. But, this wasn’t just a little blood. It was gushing out of both sides. So the husband went to get a wash cloth and I held it to his nose, trying to hold his head forward so he wouldn’t swallow lots of it (I know plenty about nose bleeds, trust me.) It’s a hard thing to do with a toddler that doesn’t understand. I started to freak out a little from all the blood so my husband took over holding the cloth and noticed the slice up the right side of his nose. My poor baby not only had blood pouring out both sides but also had a splice up the right nostril and we could see cartilage at the bottom of the septum.

So, off to the ER we went. May I add that my poor, little, Boo was screaming and crying constantly and the whole ride to the hospital was torture for him (and me for feeling so helpless) and all I could do was sit in the backseat and hold the towel to his nose.

We had to wait about an hour to see a doctor (seriously!?) Luckily B stopped crying 20-30 minutes after we got there. Let me tell you, he was a brave, brave little boy when the doctor came in to examine him. He sat on the bed, laying against the pillow and didn’t cry once while he got poked and prodded in his little  nose. I was so proud of him.

I thought for sure he would need stitches but apparently cartilage + stitches don’t work well. The doctor told us that the slice looked superficial for the most part, although he is missing a tiny piece of cartilage at the bottom. He said the best option would be to use a glue to hold the skin together so it can heal better. He told us that since he is so young and little kids heal faster that the scar shouldn’t be too bad, and by the time he is in his teens it should not be very noticeable.

Of course as a parent you feel like crap. “I shouldn’t have let him play under the blanket.” “I should have watched him better.” “I should have this, I should have that.” I know that kids are kids and things will happen, but it truly makes me feel like shit to know that I may have been able to prevent something permanent (like the little piece of nose he will now have missing forever) from happening.

My little trooper. I was so sure he would have a black and blue face this morning, glad he did not. & this looks so much better than it did last night, that glue did wonders already.

2 Responses to “Well- let’s not do that ever again.”

  1. andy1076 December 13, 2011 at 1:58 pm #

    Kudos to brave Braxtyn for staying strong! happy to hear he’ll be alright! 🙂

    • ellejay419 December 13, 2011 at 2:11 pm #

      Thanks! He’s always been a tough little dude 😉

Say something!

