Mr. Clean

5 Jan

Anyone that knows me knows I am a neat freak. OCD about orderliness and no clutter, clean floors and spotless rooms. Then you bring a baby into the picture and learn that everything can’t be perfect 100 percent of the time. Not only is there less time for cleaning, but the little baby tends to make a pretty big mess.

Ok. I can work with this.

I still wipe things up when stuff gets spilled, etc. But I totally didn’t think I would have a little helper this early.

Braxtyn will drop his milk on the floor, see the splatters, and then go get the kitchen towel to wipe it up off the floor. Seriously people- he’s only 2! How in the world does he know to do that??

I’ve never made him go get a towel after he’s spilled something and have him mop it up. He just turned two for Pete’s sake, I would never think to do that, not even if he was five! I’m his mommy, that’s my job! Hah! But really- what two year old already cleans up after himself?!

Now don’t get me wrong, I’m not complaining about having such a sanitary little toddler already! I just couldn’t believe my eyes when I first saw it. Although, I had to draw the line today.

We were having breakfast at a bakery and Braxtyn was sitting in an arm chair which left plenty of room for his doughnut crumbs to fall on the floor. What does he do when he gets done eating? Grabs a napkin, gets down on his hands & knees on the dirty floor (eww!) and starts trying to pick up all the tiny, little crumbs. I told him, “That’s okay honey, you can leave those there, someone will get them with a broom later.”

Ohhhh little B.

3 Responses to “Mr. Clean”

  1. andy1076 January 5, 2012 at 2:14 pm #

    It’s all about leading by example, believe it or not kids learn from us the moment they are born and aware of their surroundings. Good on Braxtyn to help out! 🙂

    • ellejay419 January 5, 2012 at 4:09 pm #

      I know, it’s crazy how much they learn and you don’t even realize it!

  2. loveruels2011 January 5, 2012 at 2:58 pm #

    That is amazing!!! Although I am not surprised!!! He is your son afterall 😉

Say something!

