Cold turkey

3 Apr

The husband decided last night it was time to ditch the bink.

OMG!!!

Ok.

He said, “Let’s keep one in case of an emergency.” & I said, “Bad idea. Then we’d have to start all over.” So cold turkey it is for little B.

He asked for it a bit in the evening and at bedtime he started crying when I told him the binky’s “got yucky and I had to throw them in the garbage.” As soon as I shut his bedroom door though, he stopped crying.

This morning- another story. He cried and asked for it the entire time I was getting ready for work. I tried to distract him with chocolate milk and ‘toons but he wasn’t buying it.

I noticed he was chewing on his fingers a lot and when we got in the car he started chewing on the sunglasses. I know he’s teething and probably was using his binky as more of a soothing, chew toy… I feel bad… but there’s no going back now.

Wish us luck!

 

6 Responses to “Cold turkey”

  1. When the Kids Go To Bed April 3, 2012 at 11:47 am #

    Awe. Good luck!!! A few days and he’ll be fine.

  2. lifesbetterthemilkyway April 3, 2012 at 9:19 pm #

    Oohh, good luck! I’m sort of dreading the day we have to take Bennett’s away. G never took one, so we got off easy with him. Hope you’ve made it past the worst already!

    • ellejay419 April 3, 2012 at 9:25 pm #

      He didnt even ask for it before bed tonight, woo hoo! Why didnt I do this sooner?!

  3. Lucy's Cafe April 4, 2012 at 8:40 am #

    Good luck! Glad night two was better.

    • ellejay419 April 4, 2012 at 8:54 am #

      Thanks! Distraction is the key 😉

Say something!

