Sir Prince Braxtyn

10 Jul

Some would think having a boy would mean a less diva demanding personality. I don’t know. Maybe it’s just me, but when I think of boys a more laid back attitude comes to mind versus a little girls, I-want-it-my-way-and-my-way-only position. But let’s face it, I probably don’t even know what I’m talking about since Braxtyn is the only experience I’ve had with a little dude; so perhaps all toddlers are like that whether they are male or female.

Getting back to B’s primadonna totally normal toddler ways:

  • He must always eat out of our ceramic green bowls. Don’t you dare try to give him crackers in his colored plastic bowl!
  • If he observes something and says it out loud, ex: “Big mountain!” You must repeat him. Otherwise he will keep saying it over. And over. And over. And proceed to get more and more agitated each time. “Big mountain! Big mountain! Mama! Big mountain!! Big mountain, mama! Dada! Biiiiig mountain!!!!!” Cute? Sure. Does it getting tiring quickly? Most definitely.
  • Spoons. You have to let him pick out which spoon he wants. He might be in the mood for a purple spoon. Maybe a green spoon. Who knows? He might throw you through a loop when you think he wants a blue spoon and as soon as you stir his oatmeal with it he has a meltdown and demands the yellow one.
  • Anytime he encounters a candle he must pick it up and smell it. (Hmmm… maybe that’s more of an OCD thing? Although it still shouts a little bit of “diva” to me!)
  • Pretty much he has to do everything. Literally. Walk into a dark room, HE has to turn the light on. HE has to press the garage door button, when you’re going in and out. Don’t even try to do it yourself or he will throw a screaming fit and you will have to close the door and start all over. He has to be the one to pick out his diaper and grab a baby wipe, pick out which banana out of the bunch he wants to eat, just the sheet on the bed- no blankie touching him, I could go on and on and on.

It’s his way or the highway, and if you don’t comply you’re in for the worst 45 minutes (minimum) of whining, crying, demanding, foot stomping, arm flailing episode you can only imagine. He has to be the most strong willed child I’ve ever encountered, and when you’re talking about tiny two’s, that’s saying a lot.

I’m sure this is just a normal part of being a toddler. I suppose demanding certain things is the way children his age learn to make decisions in their lives, so who am I to stand in his way?

4 Responses to “Sir Prince Braxtyn”

  1. When the Kids Go To Bed July 10, 2012 at 10:34 am #

    Oh it’s DEFINITELY a TODDLER thing!! My boys were the same way. Age 2-3…it will mellow out come age 4. Although my 4 year old still insists on having a green plate and being the one that opens the door.

  2. lifesbetterthemilkyway July 10, 2012 at 9:29 pm #

    Um… yes to everything you wrote. How such tiny people can have such BIG opinions on everything is beyond me!

  3. katperez427 July 11, 2012 at 9:45 pm #

    Oh no boys have diva stages too 😦 and here I always wanted a little boy haha.

    • ellejay419 July 14, 2012 at 1:10 pm #

      He is smooth sailing most of the time but the terrible twos stage has brought out the diva in him !

Say something!

