Supermoms unite

5 Oct

Why is it that most people seemed shocked that you look good and/or have a clean house after having children? It’s like- you’re not capable of having it all? I beg to differ.

Maybe it’s because I’m one of those weirdos who actually likes to clean; and because I’m the type of person that when I look good on the outside, I feel good on the inside.

I know it’s a compliment when someone says you look nice- but sometimes a part of me is slightly offended when it goes more like this: “You look really good, how is that possible after having a kid?” Yes, I have had more than one person say this to me, like it’s expected that after having a child you can no longer look good- or even decent.

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t always look “really good” and I’m not judging anyone who walks out of their house looking a hot mess on the regular- I just don’t think that it should be a huge shock that you can be a mom and still look put together.

If anything, having a child has forced me to step up my works outs because I want to stay healthy and be here for my family for as long as I possibly can.

I only work a couple of days a week so I can’t speak for moms who work a full 40 hour per week job. I’m sure if that was the case, my house wouldn’t be quite as clean (I said “quite” because remember- I’m still an OCD freak about a clean house!). On my days off our routine goes something like this:

  • Braxtyn wakes up and we watch a couple of cartoons
  • We eat breakfast
  • I exercise and work out on the elliptical while B plays with his toys
  • Arts & crafts for the little man
  • I get beautiful for the day (haha) I shower and do my hair & make up
  • Run any errands we have
  • Clean the house while I try to get the energizer bunny down for a nap
  • Nap fail- he helps me clean
  • I cook dinner while we wait for daddy to come home
  • FAMILY TIME

I’m certainly not trying to make anyone feel bad with this post by saying if your house isn’t as clean as mine or you wear sweatpants often that I’m better than you. Not at all. What I’m saying is- See! It can be done! It’s tiring and a work out in itself but it works for me, and if I can do it, anyone can.

2 Responses to “Supermoms unite”

  1. loveruels2011 October 5, 2012 at 6:24 pm #

    I totally agree with you, although you wouldn’t guess it right now looking at my apartment but when I get into a routine with the little guy that will be my goal. 🙂

    • ellejay419 October 5, 2012 at 8:19 pm #

      You also just moved so you get a pass too haha 😉

Say something!

