The allergy saga

21 Feb

Last week I took Braxtyn to the doctor for his 3 year check up (only 3 months late) and to talk about his possible fish allergy. He’s right on track where he’s been as far as height and weight, which is good. Since he didn’t have to have any shots this time around the doctor had me take him to the lab to get his blood drawn to test for the allergy. He did a lot better than I thought he would, he only cried after it was all done, broke my heart, but he got lots of stickers from the lab tech. that made up for it.

& yes, it was confirmed that he has an allergy to all fish. The doctor said the obvious, which is for him not to ingest any fish, checking labels to make sure they don’t contain fish, to stay away from seafood, seafood restaurants (cross contamination), and if he HAS to go fishing that he should wear protective clothing and gloves and be sure not to touch the fish (and in our case, not to touch any part of a person that has touched fish either). So sadly, I think going fishing is out of the picture which I know he liked to do with Grandpa 😦 My little monkey is just too sensitive to it.

The good news is that we do have some Epi Pens now, which I hope to never, ever have to use, ever! (But just like insurance, it’s good to have- just in case.) It puts my mommy mind at ease.

On a completely unrelated note, Braxtyn hopped up on my lap a few days ago in the late afternoon and 60 seconds later he was fast asleep. He never does that. Melted my heart ❤

wpid-IMG_20130219_162630.jpg

One Response to “The allergy saga”

  1. When the Kids Go To Bed February 22, 2013 at 2:14 pm #

    poor thing. 😦

Say something!

