One of those days

4 Mar

Ever have one of those days- or in our case, weekends that you just feel like a failure as a parent?

Yah, that was us these past few days.

I got home from work Friday night and the husband wanted to go out to dinner. Even though I was tired I usually never pass up a chance to go out to eat (frozen dinner is usually  reserved for Friday nights and restaurant food beats that by miles) so when I got back from work and running a couple errands we hopped in the car and left. It was after 7pm by this time so we were starving (minus Mr. Picky Pants who ate before I got home). The resturant we wanted to go to was a new pizzeria and the wait for a table was 45 minutes.

Hmmm… a 45 minute wait with a toddler in tow + 2 starving parents who wouldn’t get any food until probably 8:30?

I don’t think so.

We decided to drive down the road to a different resturant that sells yummy, yummy pizzas. At this point, B is getting agitated because it is getting a bit late for him (he has a routine too ya know- he likes to be in his “comfy cozies” by a certain time!) We only have to wait a few minutes before we get a table. Yet as soon as we sit down, the waterworks turn on.

Braxtyn starts crying and he won’t tell us why or what’s wrong (he’s throwing a fit. He is a toddler after all.) The waitress then comes over to tell us that if we want to order pizza we should be aware that everyone is ordering pizza tonight and since they can only cook a few at a time it will be at least 45-50 minutes.

You know what happens when you’re starving and you get upset, right? You get even more agitated. & at this point B was throwing the biggest fit I’ve seen him throw since he grew out of his terrible two’s stage- so I said, “We’re leaving.”

To top it all off, as we were walking through the resturant towards the door Braxtyn decides to scream, “I haven’t eaten yet, I’m hungry!!!!” Hah! Talk about looking like bad parents!

I mean, for real- what does it take to get a pizza in this town! Sheesh.

pizza

Saturday night is kinda funny.

My mom watched Braxtyn while we went to a thing I had for work. When we got home around 9:30 my mom said that Braxtyn had fallen asleep in our bed around 7:30 (omg!) and she didn’t want to wake him, so he was in there.

The door to our room was open so I peeked my head into the darkness and didn’t see him in the bed. I flipped on the light and he wasn’t there.

I had a moment of panic and then I heard some muffled coughing. What in the world..?

I called to my mom, “He’s not here!” She immediately says, “Don’t say that.” I said, “Mom, he’s not in our bed.” As she comes to stand beside me in the doorway and looks, she sees he’s not there. As the husband is checking under the bed (where I had a feeling he was) she says, “I just stepped outside for a couple of minutes! I don’t know where he could have gone!”

Oh yes, he was asleep. Under our bed.

I can’t say he’s ever done that before, silly boy. Grandma almost got fired 😉

Then there’s Sunday.

As I was blow drying my hair before church that morning I saw Braxtyn walking toward me with his arms out in front of him as if he was coming over to shut the bathroom door. I realized the noise of the dryer was interrupting his very important cartoon watching, so I started pulling the door closed for him. It wouldn’t shut so I tugged harder while simultaneously drying my hair and looking the other way. It wasn’t until I looked over that I noticed him crying and shut off the dryer and he was bawling.

!!!I was squishing his little fingers in the door!!!

wwm

I felt like the worlds absolute worst mommy at that moment. Luckily for him (& me) he was perfectly fine about 3 minutes later.

Whew.

I know all those instances might not seem like much separately, but when they happen together in one weekend it makes you think, Parenting:FAIL.

2 Responses to “One of those days”

  1. Lucy's Cafe March 4, 2013 at 3:58 pm #

    All your other blog posts show how great of a mom you are! Hope you have a better week 🙂
    (I love that he was sleeping under your bed…too cute.)

    • ellejay419 March 4, 2013 at 4:51 pm #

      Thanks 🙂 It can only get better, right??

Say something!

