Social butterfly

9 May

Contrary to earlier findings, it turns out that Mr. Braxtyn is becoming quite the social butterfly.

I’m not saying he used to be a loner or anything like that but being an only child comes with a certain skill of playing well alone; and he’s also not used to confrontation- ie: when another kid would come up to him and rip the toy he was playing with right out of his hands & not do a thing about it!

In those aspects he’s starting to stand up for himself more which I’m glad of, but he’s also seeming to make friends pretty easily which makes me happy. I think it’s important from a young age to be able to do that.

Since we’ve started going back to the parks with the warmer weather he’s been making friends quickly on the playground. It’s so cute and makes me a proud mommy to see him interacting with other children.

Yesterday he made a few friends while he was playing. They chased each other up the stairs and down the slides and he would say, “Watch out, don’t fall off that part, you could get hurt!” Another little boy told him, “I like you’re shirt. It’s funny.” Braxtyn looks down at it and says, “Yah. I bought it. At the store.” I just love hearing him make conversations with other kids, it’s so entertaining!

 

Something else I found quite funny that he said the other day at dinner, “…and we looked at the store and couldn’t find it, so we went to the Wal-Mart and they didn’t have it either!” I almost spit my drink out, for some reason I found it hilarious that A: He knows that Wal-Mart is the name of a store we frequent and B: He called it The Wal-Mart. I said, “Braxtyn, you’re so smart!” He just smiled.

3 Responses to “Social butterfly”

  1. andy1076 May 9, 2013 at 1:53 pm #

    Ah, the years when they start to talk. Treasure these! because the will say the cutest things 🙂

    • ellejay419 May 9, 2013 at 1:57 pm #

      I do! It’s fun now that he can have conversations and even more hilarious when the convos are between small children 🙂

      • andy1076 May 9, 2013 at 3:06 pm #

        All the broken sentences that still manage to get pieced together? 😀

Say something!

