A first and a last

29 Aug

Braxtyn had his first dentist appointment yesterday and did such a great job. He’d been looking forward to it for months, so I wasn’t surprised that he was a complete superstar the entire time. We both had our appointments scheduled for the same day, so we decided I would go first so he could check everything out and see what happens and then it would be his turn.

It was so cute, he was right up front with the hygienist the entire time she was cleaning my teeth. She talked to him the whole time explaining what she was doing and what all the different tools were for. He kept asking, “What’s that?” “What does that do?” “What’s that for?” And he loved “Mr. Thirtsy” as the hygienist called it and the spit sucker.

When it was his turn he sat in the chair and opened his mouth wide (we practiced all morning hah!) while she counted and cleaned and polished and flossed all his teeth. He got to pick out what tooth polish he wanted (mint, because it was green, ((his favorite color)) of course) and also what flavor fluoride he wanted (mint again, because it was green) and also a green toothbrush.

He even had a couple x-rays taken and was totally awesome about having those little bite plate things in his mouth (which I thought maybe he would freak out about- they’re always SO big.) But nope, he was a big boy and we had no problems whatsoever. So, naturally, he picked out a green dinosaur and another green toy from the treasure box.

All in all it was a successful trip. Until, that is, he tripped walking running out of the office. On the cement. 2 skinned knees, one skinned elbow, one skinned hand. ::Sad face::

Nothing a little movie called Planes couldn’t cure though. It was cute. Well, ya know, as cute as a kids movie can be to an adult.

Which reminds me- if you’re a mother to boys or even girls, but I think more so with boys, it’s imperative to always have antiseptic wipes and band aids in your purse. I can’t tell you how many times Braxtyn has wiped out on the cement and I’ve needed those things. Luckily I learned to keep those handy with me at all times!

Ok, onto my other big news.

The first week of December, which is approximately 2 weeks before my due date, will be my last week of working outside the house. Yes, that’s right- I am officially going to become a stay at home mommy!

I am so excited to be able to stay at home with my babies for good. I also feel very fortunate that I’m able to do it. I feel that these years are the years when they need their mama the most- it would be silly to start being a SAHM say, when they are off to middle school. Even though we will no longer have my income (my whoppin’ 3 day a week income) I feel as though it’s worth losing that bit of money to be able to be there 24/7 for them. My time will be better spent taking care of my 2 babies rather than making a few extra dollars at a job that takes me away from where my heart really is.

I guess I better get to Googling some homemade dinner recipes, because now that I’m going to be home everyday at 5 I don’t exactly have an excuse for not having a healthy, homemade dinner on the table, right? Right!

imagesCAGXQ1G0

One Response to “A first and a last”

  1. When the Kids Go To Bed August 29, 2013 at 2:22 pm #

    Way to go Braxtyn! My boys are the same way with green. They used to fight over the green dinner plate…so I had to buy too more. Congrats to staying home!! That’s awesome.

Say something!

