My new job?

14 Mar

No. It’s my new life. & I love it. For the past 3.5 months, I have been a stay at home mom.

It’s not a job. I don’t get paid. (Unless you count baby smiles, poopy diapers, and toddler “I love you’s”- which is pretty much worth it when you really think about it((minus the poopy diapers of course))).

There’s this ridiculous “war” going on between working moms and stay at home moms. It’s unnecessary and every time I come across a blog post or article or talk show TV topic on this subject- I bypass it immediately. I’ve been on both sides of this “debate” and I’ve deemed it ignorant.

Wouldn’t we all like to stay at home all day long with our children and play with them and take care of them and our home?

No? You’d go crazy and get bored?

OK then.

Wouldn’t we all like to have a career and feel satisfied and meaningful outside the home and make tons of dough?

No? You’d miss your kids and feel like you’re somehow missing out?

Ok then.

Look, life is different for everyone.

I know people who got bored staying at home all day with the kids. I also know people (myself included) who just couldn’t put their all into a job outside the home because their heart and soul was being watched over by someone else all day long.

What I don’t understand is why time and time again the cat claws come out when discussing this topic. As I said, I’ve been on both sides. I’ve worked while my son was being babysat. If you’re used to living a certain way financially, it makes sense to keep the same income once you have a child. Especially since having a child adds much more $$$ to the monthly bill, who doesn’t need a little more money in the pockets? & I can honestly say that while I was working I was jealous of other moms who got to stay at home with their babies and take care of them themselves. I felt resentful when I would have to get up in the mornings and leave my child to go work for money. IMO: Money’s good- but it’s not everything. Money will always be there for you to make. Your child, being a child, will not. Again, that is my opinion only.

I’m not saying moms who have to work are terrible people. Like I’ve said, I’ve been there. I’ve been able to weigh the options and for ME, staying home is what’s right.

There are moms who choose to work for whatever reasons. Many have scary, important lifesaving jobs: Doctors, nurses, police officers, etc. Then there are the ones who are cashiers, bank tellers, store managers who may work just to make ends meet or maybe just to get a little sanity in their lives. I don’t know! I don’t really care why they work because whatever their reasons are- it’s none of my business! & more importantly- they are doing what’s right for them and their families.

Bottom line: (& really, this is common sense) Do what’s right and fits for you and don’t listen when people have negative things to say about the way you’re managing your life, because everyone is different and seriously…. one size does not fit all. Unless you’re talking french fries.

Then a small order would fit everyone (or maybe even a medium- if I was really hungry.. like I may be now, a medium order of french fries….) Don’t even try to lie and say you couldn’t polish off a small order of fries in about 5 minutes. One size fits all only applies to hot, delicious french fries- let’s not forget that.

 

EDIT: I had to giggle when I came back to read this post from last night. Apparently I was pretty hungry. Probably because it was midnight and I had been so busy yesterday that I hadn’t taken much time to eat properly. Note to self and other SAHM’s: Eat when you have some free time! Daydreaming about french fries will not solve your hunger problem! 🙂

2 Responses to “My new job?”

  1. When the Kids Go To Bed March 18, 2014 at 9:50 am #

    Well put. It’s different for everyone. People find what works for them. I would LOVE to stay home…but that’s ME. What I want, which unfortunately we wouldn’t have food on the table if I did. We do what we need to do for our children and ourselves. We are all moms. No need to judge.

    • ellejay419 March 18, 2014 at 6:23 pm #

      Thanks! I was just so tired of all the negativity when moms make different choices for themselves 🙂

Say something!

