Essential Oils experiment

5 Aug

Well, not really an experiment per se, but I am testing them out to see if they will help with my anxiety/panic issues. I still can’t take Xanax, which in all honesty, I haven’t even needed within the last almost 1.5 years. Even if I could take it, I wouldn’t- because I’m not a huge fan of having to take medications all the time and I’d rather find a natural remedy for problems.

I think my anxiety/panic attacks have gotten a lot better in the past couple years but I still have moments where it seems that nothing in particular will set off my panic and then my heart starts racing and I can’t breathe right; then I get dizzy and everything gets worse until I can try to tell myself I’m not having a heart attack, I can breathe just fine, nothings wrong, it’s just that mixed up part of my brain that won’t function properly sometimes. Sounds fun, I know πŸ˜‰

I decided to do some research on essential oils and figure out which ones are best for anxiety and calming. There were a handful that helped with anxiety so to start I settled on Vetiver and Lavender. I ordered an electric diffuser and as of right now I am breathing in the somewhat mysterious aroma of vetiver and the calming scent of lavender.

Maybe it will work, maybe it won’t, but if not- at least they sure smell pretty great together!

5 Responses to “Essential Oils experiment”

  1. lifesbetterthemilkyway August 5, 2014 at 3:15 pm #

    Vetiver is such a potent one! I use it in a blend I made for Bennett that I put on the bottom of his feet before bed, and I don’t think he likes it very much! I need to splurge and get a diffuser. Keep us posted on how you like the oils. Do you use them for other things as well?

    • ellejay419 August 5, 2014 at 4:19 pm #

      Yes, the vetiver definitely shocked me a little! I’ve had a perfume and candles that contained veitver before, but always mixed with other scents so I don’t know quite what I was expecting, but it is nice with the lavender. The diffuser I bought was only around $15, it holds 10 drops of oil so it doesn’t last super long before it needs to be refilled but not bad if you’re only using it for an hour or so at a time like I need with my anxiety.
      This is my first experience with them but I’m already thinking about ordering some others for cold season.
      What do you use for Bennett?

  2. andy1076 August 5, 2014 at 3:58 pm #

    I never really had success with aromatherapy, but if you find one that works do share πŸ™‚

Say something!

