Mom guilt

22 Sep

Moms with more than one child, do you ever feel any guilt about how your attention is split between your children?

I’ve had issues with this ever since Callahan was born. Obviously before, Braxtyn got 100% of my attention. Now, with the baby, Callahan gets the majority of my attention. He’s still nursing, he’s still small and needs me for everything, let alone- he prefers me to anyone else; so I feel guilt about not giving Braxtyn as much attention as I think I should be.

Although, when I look at the situation as a whole, I can see that it doesn’t seem to be affecting him negatively. His behavior isn’t bad in any way. In fact, he loves his little brother so much- he doesn’t harbor any adverse feelings toward him what so ever. He’s a good little helper, I’m lucky to have such a sweet little guy.

I think maybe it’s just more me and the fact that I’m struggling a bit with his toddler stage. It’s hard having a 4-year-old, acting like a 4-year-old, when you have a baby in the house. Trying to feed the baby, or put the baby down for a nap, etc. Toddlers are noisy little beings! Braxtyn doesn’t have an “indoor” voice. I keep trying to teach him this, but everything is almost always a SHOUT. He doesn’t walk anywhere, always running (which is not very quiet) on top of that, he’s heavy footed- it sounds like he’s stomping everywhere; & when you have hard wood floors it just amplifies everything. So with all that, I lose my patients pretty easily with him. No, I don’t yell at him, but I’ve definitely caught myself snapping at him and I think that’s where a lot of my guilt comes in.

I guess it drives me kind of crazy not being able to give both of my kids 100% of my attention 100% of the time. Is that normal? I hope so.

3 Responses to “Mom guilt”

  1. andy1076 September 22, 2014 at 10:52 am #

    Sibling rivalry, hoo boy :O

  2. When the Kids Go To Bed September 22, 2014 at 7:27 pm #

    Totally normally and eventually it will fade. It’s pretty great when you can do things with both of them at the same time. Keep him involved in what you are doing for Callahan and reminding him that you used to do all those things for him too. Good luck.

    • ellejay419 September 23, 2014 at 9:54 am #

      That’s good to know, I’m glad it will get less eventually 🙂

Say something!

