I know the whole Zombie thing is in, but this getting to be a bit much…

2 Dec

I hesitate to even blog about my parenting techniques. I think labels such as, “Attachment Parenting” and “Natural Mama” and “Pro-Formula Fed Parent” are dumb. Aren’t there enough labels in this world? Can’t parenting just be called parenting? I think so. I don’t know what my “parenting technique” is, and quite honestly I don’t care. Actually, how’s this- my parenting technique is “I Do Anything and Everything I Can to Raise a Happy, Healthy Baby”?

Sounds good to me. In this case that I’m writing about now, my “technique” has come to the point where I must involve the Cry it Out scenario. Ferber style. Callahan is 100% ready to sleep through the night and has been for quite some time now. I can tell you how many times my one year old has slept through the night since his birth. Less than 10. So, counting my pregnancy (cuz we all know pregnant women get up an average of 3 times a night too pee, hah!) it’s been almost two years since I’ve had a full nights sleep. Two years!! That’s insane to me.

I really am not one to complain about issues I may have with parenting, but in this case I don’t think it’s all that healthy to have the sleep habits and patterns that have been going on in our home for the past year. I’m not sure how I stumbled upon this website the other day, but ohmygosh it’s been so helpful in hammering it into my brain about how important it is for a child Callahan’s age to be able to fall back asleep on his own. & that starts with being consistent on putting him down for the night ALONE. No more nursing him to sleep. I wondered why I was getting up 4, 5, 6, 7+ times a night, every night, to nurse him back to sleep when all along it was right in front of my face. THAT’S HOW HE GOES DOWN TO SLEEP. How do I expect him to wake up in the middle of the night and fall back asleep on his own if that’s not what he’s doing from the word GO? Yes, it was all fine and dandy when he was a newborn and small baby. Especially with his colic it was the only way to get him to stop screaming and crying. But now that he’s a big boy? I guess I thought that one day he would be all, “Hey, look at me. I’m not a tiny baby anymore. I can start sleeping 8-10 hours during the night and my mom will love it. Good idea!”

Ummm no. Apparently babies don’t just up and think like that. Hah! So, a little sleep training is needed. I kept telling myself, “This won’t last forever. This won’t last forever. This won’t last forever.” And while that may be true, it definitely doesn’t make it any easier. Especially on the nights (which have been more and more lately) where he is up 5,6,7+ times. I not only find it affects me but when I’m being short with my husband and snapping at my 5-year-old for being a 5-year-old, well, then it’s affecting them as well.

What we have here is not a hunger problem. Goodness no! This boy likes to eat and is more than capable of sleeping through the entire night by this age. No, what we have here is a sleep problem.

Last night was our first night and believe it or not it went better than I expected. (It killed me to hear him crying, of course. It’s like nails on a chalkboard for a mother to hear her baby crying and not be able to go to him immediately and soothe him.) & I may or may not have had to plug in my essential oils warmer and inhale the scent of lavender and vetiver to calm myself down. (I know, I know, what about calming the baby down?! Don’t worry, that’s why I prefer the Ferber method so I can go soothe him a bit.) It only took 30 minutes to get him down to sleep. He woke up 3 times in the night and those only took a few minutes each. Knock on wood but I think we may be on to something here. I don’t want to speak too soon, but I think it can be done.

Wish me luck!

mother

Say something!

