The difference

13 Apr

I had deactivated my Facebook a couple of months ago (I do that every so often, I tend to get sick of that branch of social media and everything that comes along with it) and in doing so, I noticed that beside Instagram, my computer/technology usage as a whole kind of dissipated. I didn’t really blog all that much, and I had also started writing a story and slacked off on that- but now that I’m currently back on FB I realized I should at least get back to blogging a little more. Sure, I take plenty of pictures of the boys to have memories of them at this small age, but I also like to blog to add in the details that may become fuzzy with time.

So, speaking of details, I do remember that when Braxtyn was Callahan’s age (16 months) that I could take him anywhere and he would stick right by my side and for the most part, keep his hands to himself.

Callahan? Oh boy, he’s a different story. I call him Mr. Mischievous because he’s always exploring and getting into something. I honestly can’t take both of the boys anywhere by myself because just trying to wrangle Callahan is like trying to contain a bucking bronco. Let’s say, you’re out at a store… a cluttered beauty store such as Ulta… and you’re trying to pick up a few items but all your 16 month old wants to do it wriggle and writher around in your arms while screaming at the top of his lungs until you finally give up, out of breath, and let him go; and he takes off down the narrow, crowded aisles of expensive makeup and perfume, flying through the store at top speed, and you must chase him down and scoop him back up into your arms as he screams some more to be let down and everyone is staring at you like either you’re not this child’s mother and you’re trying to kidnap him, or you ARE this child’s mother and why can’t you contain your tiny tot???

I mean, hypothetically speaking.

I used to always boast about the fact that when Braxtyn was this age, he would never, ever stick anything in his mouth that wasn’t supposed to be there, such as rocks, leaves, small toys that were choking hazards, etc. etc.

And I’ll be darned if Callahan doesn’t actively seek out the small, dangerous items. Even when I think there are no small, dangerous items around (because trust me- I make sure) he will somehow find one, grab it, and immediately stick it in his mouth for me to hurry up and rush over, stick my fingers in his mouth, and fish it out. Examples: He had a small piece of leaf in his mouth the other day… after I had cleaned the floor. Where did he find it? I have no idea, but he started to gag so I pried his mouth open wondering what in the world he had when I realized it was a leaf fragment. Other things he likes to stick in his mouth, which aren’t exactly hazards but disgusting none the less are crumbs from the floor, the bottom of shoes, and well… pretty much anything that is known to be germy.

Yep, those boys are pretty different. But I love them like crazzzzy ❤

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

3 Responses to “The difference”

  1. andy1076 April 13, 2015 at 10:24 am #

    Dang, B has his hands full helping you keep an eye on Callaghan doesn’t he? even on this photo it’s obvious he’s planning his next move lol

    • ellejay419 April 13, 2015 at 10:36 am #

      For sure! He’s such a great little helper, wonderful big brother 🙂

      • andy1076 April 13, 2015 at 11:00 am #

        Must get it from his mom 😉

Say something!

