The Nursery

27 Feb

Most people who know me know decorating’s my thing. & it’s not to say that boys are boring or there’s not as much variety when it comes to putting together a nursery for a baby boy- but let’s be honest here; you don’t get much more girly than me. When I found out baby number 3 was a girl, let’s just say I was super excited to finally be able to design a nursery that was 100% girly girl.

 

I picked out the crib bedding first, and once I had found the perfect one I designed the decor around that. I had picked out this particular set even before I knew if she was a girl or a boy because hey, you have to be prepared. (Or maybe it was wishful thinking, who knows!)

 

I also designed the nursery in a way that she can grow into it. It’s definitely not babyish, but it has a soft color palette. Financially (& aesthetically) I don’t see the point in creating nursery’s that have themes that can’t grow with a child. If you have to change the decor in a short year or 2 it just seems like a waste of money and work and I love that theoretically she will be able to be happy with the way this room looks into her teens.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This crib set is a peachy/pink color. I never would have thought I’d have gone with a peach but it totally works with what I had in mind for the look of the nursery.

Waverly Rosewater Glam Crib Bedding

Mini Chandelier

Crystal Pink Paint from Valspar

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I love how subtle the stenciling is. This is the first time I’ve ever attempted to stencil and I absolutely love the way it turned out!

Damask Stencil

Rust-Oleum Metallic Accents in White Pearl Gloss

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Did you know these floral letters sell for upwards of $100+ on Etsy? Crazy! I made this one for under $30.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I bought this mirror from an antique store. I just added a touch of pink and shimmer paint to it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This dresser used to be in my sons room. It was that icky orangy-wood color (although it worked in his room, I wanted something more neutral for the baby’s.) I had it spray painted a glossy white and I changed out the handles as well.

Silver Faceted Glass Handles

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I bought these super cute prints from Etsy. I printed them out and went with a black and gold frame to really make them pop on the wall.

SavvySilverArt

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I had initially only bought 3 prints, and once I realized that wasn’t going to work I found that that the only other peach print left in the Etsy shop was a design I wasn’t interested in. Luckily I emailed the owner and she created the peach heart print for me, so shout out to SavvySilverArt!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This table was also the orangy-wood color. I chose different handles for this because I wasn’t sure if the dresser handles would be too big and bulky for such a small piece. (& yes- I did bling out the fan. They just don’t sell girly fans, what could I do?!)

Silver Drawer Pull

Vornado Air Circulator (Everyone knows how important it is to have circulating air in a nursery and since I went with a chandelier instead of a ceiling fan I bought this compact but very powerful fan for her room.)

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I loved this shadow box from Hobby Lobby

White Wood Shadow Box Shelf

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Pretty, girly decor that will last

Perfume Bottle

Glass Jewelry Holder

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Say something!

